This week I made quinoa for the first time. I have to admit, I didn’t really care for it. I also have to admit, the only thing I put in it was some minced garlic so I could use it for a rice substitute. Who knew, though, that one cup of dried quinoa produces close to four cups prepared? What to do with all of this? Some time ago I had made this recipe for cheesy, spinach, artichoke pasta. Why not try it with quinoa? (I steamed some fresh spinach the first time I made it).

All you need is 1 package (9oz) of creamed spinach, one can of artichoke hearts (I chopped them with the slap chop to make them easier to mix in), 1/4 c Parmesan cheese, and one bag (2c) shredded mozzarella. And, of course, the quinoa. I just used what I had left over.

Prepare 1 cup (dried) quinoa according to the directions. Then mix in the creamed spinach (thawed), artichokes, Parmesan cheese, and 1 cup of the mozzarella. Place in a 2 quart, broiler safe dish. Top with the remaining mozzarella. Since my quinoa was cold I baked it at 350 for 20 minutes. Then turn on the broiler to brown it just a bit (2-5 minutes). If yours is still warm, you can just skip to the broiling 🙂 This is how it looked, not my prettiest picture, but it certainly tasted better than plain:

Image

Leave a comment