Last night I experimented with Enchiladas Verde. It was a success. I started with this recipe for Honey Lime Enchiladas. But being the lazy girl I am, I didn’t want to have to cook and shred chicken before getting started. So I marinaded some boneless chicken breast over night and then threw it in the crockpot. It turned out very well.

Ingredients (Serves 4)

  • 6 tablespoons honey
  • 5 tablespoons lime juice (squeezable lime)
  • 1 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 4 frozen chicken breasts (thawed)
  • 8 tortillas
  • 2 cups shredded cheese
  • 1-2 cans green enchilada sauce

Instructions

  • In a bowl whisk the honey, lime, garlic, and chili powder. Place the thawed chicken into a gallon ziplock bag. Pour in the marinade, zip shut, and shake well. Place in the fridge overnight.
  • In the morning layer the chicken in the bottom of the crock pot and cover with the remaining marinade. Add about 1/2 the can of enchiladas verdes sauce. Cook on low for 8 hours.
  • Remove the chicken from the crock pot and use two forks to shred. Spoon the marinade from the crock pot over the shredded chicken and mix well.
  • Heat one tortilla at a time in the microwave for 15 seconds between two damp paper towels. This will make it easier to fold.
  • Spoon chicken into the center of the tortilla in a line. Top with a small spoonful of the remaining enchilada sauce. Fold in the ends of the tortilla towards the chicken.
  • Place in a greased baking pan. Repeat with remaining tortillas and chicken.
  • When all of the chicken is gone, cover the enchiladas with more enchiladas verdes sauce. Top with a heaping handful(s) of shredded cheese. We used the Artisan Mexican Cheese from Sargento.
  • Place in a preheated over at 350 for 25-30 minutes or until cheese is melted.

I was so excited to eat them that I forgot to take pictures, but they were amazing. And again, super easy in the crock pot. If you want a printable version, you can find that here.

3 responses »

  1. Valerie says:

    Ooh, I am so trying these. YUM If you don’t mind, Can I ask you something about the crockpot? I am new to slow cooking, and when I made chicken a few months ago it seemed overcooked so the next time I added more liquid and it was better but still kinda tough. My husband then suggested I cut down the cooking time, so first I went from 8 hours to 6. Next time I actually went down to 4 hours (on low) and it was MUCH more tender (and still fully cooked). Does it depend on the thickness of the meat? Because the 4 hours on low was thin cut chicken “cutlets”. Thanks!

    • I usually use frozen chicken and it seems to do well. Also, my crockpot has a timer on it so I can set it to cook for a certain length and then it just switches to warm. That seems to work well. Also, the thinner the chicken, the quicker it will cook. I hope that helps.

Leave a comment